2014 ISSCR Awards

Each year, the ISSCR is pleased to present several important awards in recognition of outstanding work and promise in the fields of stem cells and regenerative medicine. The following awards will be presented at the ISSCR 12th Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada. Also included are brief write-ups from last year's winners.

McEwen Award for Innovation

This prestigious, $100,000 award recognizes original thinking and ground-breaking research pertaining to stem cells or regenerative medicine that opens new avenues of exploration towards the understanding or treatment of human disease or affliction.

The 2014 McEwen Award for Innovation will be presented to Azim Surani, PhD, Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, in recognition of his work on the cellular and molecular specification of the mammalian germ cell lineage. His research has helped uncover how the germ line is established and what molecular mechanisms are responsible for reprogramming the epigenome to achieve the totipotent state. Dr. Surani will be presented with his award during the Presidential Symposium on Wednesday, June 18, 2014.

Read more about the McEwen Award for Innovation.

ISSCR-BD Biosciences Outstanding Young Investigator Award

This important award recognizes the exceptional achievements of an investigator in the early part of his or her independent career in stem cell research.

The 2014 ISSCR-BD Biosciences Outstanding Young Investigator Award will be presented to Valentina Greco, PhD, Yale University, for her research into the interactions between stem cells and their niches, including the first direct, real-time visualization of stem cell divisions in living animals. Dr. Greco will be presented with her award and present her talk during Plenary V on Saturday, June 21, 2014. 

Read more about the ISSCR-BD Biosciences Outstanding Young Investigator Award.

ISSCR Public Service Award

This award was launched in 2011 and recognizes an individual for his/her outstanding contribution of public service to the field of stem cell research and regenerative medicine within the past year. Nominees for this important award, supported by past and present members of the ISSCR Board of Directors, can come from one of the many fields serving the stem cell research community, including academia, government, philanthropy and/or patient advocacy.

The fourth annual ISSCR Public Service Award will be presented to Paolo Bianco, MD, Sapienza University of RomeElena Cattaneo, PhD, University of Milan, and Michele De Luca, MD, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, in recognition of their recent involvement in public debate and policy-making in Italy and their championing of rigorous scientific and medical standards and stringent regulatory oversight in the introduction of new stem cell treatments into the clinic. This award will be presented during the Presidential Symposium on Wednesday, June 18, 2014.

Read about the previous winners