Merit Abstract Awards

These awards recognize superior abstracts with a certificate and recognition on the ISSCR website and at the annual meeting. Late-Breaking abstracts are not eligible. No application necessary, only trainees with active ISSCR membership are eligible.

Current Winner

  • 2019 Merit Abstract Awards

    CONGRATULATIONS to the ISSCR 2019 Merit Abstract Award Winners:
    Juan Alvarez-Dominguez, Harvard University
    Madeline Andrews, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
    Aparna Bhaduri, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
    Joel Blanchard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Freya Bruveris, Murdoch Children's Research Insitute
    Di Chen, UCLA
    Elisa Clark, University of Washington
    Samuel Collombet, EMBL
    Marlon Dias, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
    Ramy Elsaid, Institut Pasteur
    Elena Enzo,
    Univ of Modena and Reggio Emilia
    Ali Fathi, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Hananeh Fonoudi, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute
    Mukul Girotra, University of Lausanne
    David Grommisch, Karolinska Institutet
    Franklin Herbert, Christian Medical College
    Wenxiang Hu, University of Pennsylvania
    Tsuyoshi Iida, Keio University
    Ammar Jabali, Central Institute of Mental Health (ZI), University of Heidelberg and German Cancer Research Center
    Cody Kime, RIKEN
    Siddharth Kishore, University of Pennsylvania
    Choon-Soo Lee, Center for Medical Innovation, Seoul National University Hospital
    Lu Li, Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology (SIBCB)
    Cambrian Liu, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles
    Wan-Jin Lu, Stanford Univ Sch of Medicine
    Alicia Mayeuf-Louchart, INSERM U1011, UNIVERSITE DE LILLE-EGID
    Aditya Mithal, Boston University School of Medicine
    Taiki Nakajima, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Kyoto University
    Sangbum Park, Yale University
    Antonella Pinto, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
    Edwin Rosado-Olivieri, Harvard Stem Cell Institute
    Erin Sanders, Stanford University
    Munirah Santosa, Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IMCB)/ A*STAR
    Bo Shen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
    Jian Shu, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard/Whitehead Institute
    Enrique Sosa, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
    Fang Tao, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
    Daniel Wagner, Harvard Medical School
    Zhenghao Yang, Peking Univeisity
    Atilgan Yilmaz, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Bing Zhang, Harvard University
    Linfeng Zhang,
    Tongji University
    Jan Zylicz, Institut Curie and University Of Cambridge

Past Winners

  • 2018 Merit Abstract Awards

    CONGRATULATIONS to the ISSCR 2018 Merit Abstract Award Winners:
    Yaser Atlasi, Radboud University
    Scott Bell, McGill University
    Mimi Borrelli, Stanford University
    German Camargo Ortega, Helmholtz Zentrum Muenchen & University of Munich
    Xi Chen, Tsinghua University
    Jun Chen, National Institute of Biological Sciences, Beijing
    Laura De Rosa, Centre for Regenerative Medicine,Univeristy of Modena and Reggio Emilia
    Yvanka De Soysa, UCSF/Gladstone Institutes
    Florijn Dekkers, Hubrecht Institute for Developmental Biology and Stem Cell Research
    Melanie Domingues, CSIRO
    Ahmed Fahmy, University of Toronto
    Rodrigo Grandy, University of Cambridge
    Elliott Hagedorn, Boston Children's Hospital
    Michael Hicks, UCLA
    Takuji Ito, Aichi Medical University
    Woong Bi Jang, Convergence Stem Cell Research Center
    Manabu Kasamoto, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application. Kyoto University
    Cody Kime, CDB RIKEN
    Yuko Kokubu, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application (CiRA), Kyoto University, and  Takeda,CiRA Joint Program (T,CiRA)
    Choon-Soo Lee, Seoul National University Hospital
    Cuicui Liu, Institute of Hematology & Blood Diseases Hospital, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Department of Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine, Peking Union Medical College
    Vikas Malik, Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health,Chinese Academy of Sciences (GIBH,CAS)
    Jana Mitchell, Harvard University
    Takenori Ogura, Center for iPS Cell Reseach and Application, Kyoto University
    John Ouyang, Duke,NUS Medical School
    Wu Qian, Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
    Jayesh Salvi, Stanford University
    Colinda Scheele, Netherlands Cancer Institute
    Charvi Syal, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute
    Jorik van Rijn, UMC Utrecht
    Yaofeng Wang, Guangzhou Institue of Biomedine and Health, CAS
    Atilgan Yilmaz, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Jan Zylicz, Institut Curie / University of Cambridge
  • 2017 Merit Abstract Awards

    CONGRATULATIONS to the ISSCR 2017 Merit Abstract Award Winners

    Michalis Agathocleous, Children's Reseach Institute at UT Southwestern
    Yunus Alpagu, Institute of Medical Biology, A*STAR
    Amanda Andersson Rolf, WT-MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute
    Muneef Ayyash, Weizmann Institute of Science
    Shiran Bar, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Semir Beyaz, Harvard Medical School
    Luiz Carlos Caires, University of Sao Paulo
    Joshua Currie, Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden
    Iman Fares, IRIC
    Max Friesen, Harvard Stem Cell Institute
    Casey Gifford, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease
    Shiri Gur-Cohen, The Rockefeller University
    Jonathan Henninger, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Division of Hematology/Oncology
    Theodore Ho, UCSF
    Biao Huang, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK)
    Elena Itskovich, University of Cambridge
    Marja Koskuvi, A. I. Virtanen Institute for Molecular Sciences, University of Eastern Finland
    Meng Li
    Francois Mercier, Harvard Department of Stem Cell & Regenerative Biology (HSCRB)
    Jerome Mertens, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
    Carola Maria Morell, University of Cambridge
    Bjoern Neumann, University of Cambridge
    Michaela Patterson, University of Southern California (USC)
    Pengxu Qian, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
    Anne Robertson, Boston Children's Hospital
    Samuel Rowbotham, Boston Children's Hospital
    Ido Sagi, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Kotaro Sasaki, Kyoto University
    Christopher Schlieve, Children's Hospital Los Angeles
    Hayden Selvadurai, The Hospital for Sick Children
    Masamitsu Sone, CiRA
    Wenqian Song
    Ralph Stadhouders, Center for Genomic Regulation (CRG)
    Hiroyuki Tamiya
    Zuzana Tothova, Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Daniel Wagner, Harvard Medical School
    Abraham Weintraub, Whitehead Institute
    Ole Wiskow, Harvard Stem Cells and Regenerative Biology Department
    Fang-Ju Wu, National Yang-Ming University
    Wenbo Wu, National Yang-Ming University
    Mitsutoshi Yamada, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Keio University School of Medicine
    Atilgan Yilmaz, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Erwei Zuo, Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Science (CAS)
    Jan Zylicz, Institut Curie