Board Letter to Stem Cell Community Regarding Travel to ISSCR 2017

  • 10 February, 2017

Dear members of the stem cell research community:

The ISSCR community stands united in support of science and the belief that international collaboration and the free flow of ideas is essential to our work. Restricting travel to the U.S. from seven countries named in a recent Executive Order negatively affects scientific exchange, and has generated concern among many.

While some of you may be questioning whether to travel for the ISSCR 2017 annual meeting in Boston, 14-17 June, this is not a time to stay away. Rather, in coming to attend the meeting, you show support for colleagues around the world and the global scientific community. Your presence underscores that we are stronger as a community when we unite around the goals that bring us together: advancing science and developing therapies that are vital to the future of human health. Our strength lies in the diversity of our ideas, our research, and our scientists.

Please know that the ISSCR supports you and the field, and we encourage you to gather this year as you normally would, to share science and build collaborations that advance our field. We look forward to seeing you at ISSCR 2017 in Boston.

View a list of questions and answers about the recent Executive Order provided by U.S. Customs and Border Protection. Read the ISSCR’s statement in opposition to the recent U.S. Executive Order.


ISSCR Officers and Board

Sally Temple, Neural Stem Cell Institute, USA, President

Sean J. Morrison, UT Southwestern Medical Center, USA, Past President

Hans C. Clevers, Hubrecht Institute, Netherlands, President Elect

Martin F. Pera, University of Melbourne, Australia, Clerk

Douglas A. Melton, Department of Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Biology, USA, Vice President

Arnold R. Kriegstein, University of California San Francisco, USA, Treasurer

ISSCR Directors

Arturo Alvarez-Buylla, University of California San Francisco, USA

Nissim Benvenisty, Hebrew University, Israel

Marianne E. Bronner, California Institute for Technology, USA

George Q. Daley, Boston Children's Hospital, USA

Valentina Greco, Yale University School of Medicine, USA

Urban Lendahl, Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Haifan Lin, Yale University School of Medicine, USA

Hideyuki Okano, Keio University, School of Medicine, Japan

Kathrin Plath, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, USA

Hans R. Schöler, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine, Germany

Austin G. Smith, Wellcome Trust Centre for Stem Cell Research & Institute for Stem Cell Biology, UK

Deepak Srivastava, Gladstone Institutes, USA

Masayo Takahashi, RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology, Japan

Elly Tanaka, Institute of Molecular Pathology, Austria

Joanna Wysocka, Stanford University, USA

Shinya Yamanaka, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application (CiRA), Japan/Gladstone Institutes, USA

Ex Officio

Leonard I. Zon, Boston Children’s Hospital, USA

Rudolph Jaenisch, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA

Janet Rossant, The Hospital for Sick Children Research Institute, Canada

10 February, 2017