The ISSCR Announces Election of New Officers and Members of the Board of Directors

  • 15 March, 2021
News from ISSCR website tile

Skokie, IL – The International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) is pleased to announce the results of its 2021 election. Amander Clark, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology, UCLA, USA will become the next vice president of the ISSCR. Fiona Doetsch, PhD, Professor of Molecular Stem Cell Biology at the Biozentrum at the University of Basel, Switzerland was elected Clerk.

The following three scientists were newly elected to the ISSCR Board of Directors for a three-year term:

Melissa Carpenter, PhD, ElevateBio, USA
Malin Parmar, PhD, Lund University, Sweden
Mitinori Saitou, MD, PhD, Kyoto University, Japan

The following ISSCR Board of Directors members were re-appointed for a second term:

Jane Lebkowski, PhD, Regenerative Patch Technologies (RPT)
Martin Pera, PhD, Jackson Laboratory, USA, Editor-in-Chief of Stem Cell Reports
Takanori Takebe, MD, PhD, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, USA and Tokyo Medical and Dental University and Yokohama City University, Japan

Visit the ISSCR website for all of the results and the full biographies of our new and reappointed members of the ISSCR Board of Directors.

About the International Society for Stem Cell Research (

With nearly 4,000 members from more than 60 countries, the International Society for Stem Cell Research is the preeminent global, cross-disciplinary, science-based organization dedicated to stem cell research and its translation to the clinic. The ISSCR mission is to promote excellence in stem cell science and applications to human health. Additional information about stem cell science is available at A Closer Look at Stem Cells, an initiative of the Society to inform the public about stem cell research and its potential to improve human health.