ISSCR President, Board Member, and 11th Annual Meeting Keynote Speaker Among Winners of Breakthrough Prize

  • 20 February, 2013

ISSCR President, Shinya Yamanaka, Board of Directors member Hans Clevers and the ISSCR 2013 Annual Meeting Keynote Speaker Eric Lander, were three of 11 distinguished recipients of the inaugural Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, announced today. Rewarding scientists “who think big, take risks and have made a significant impact on our lives,” the Breakthrough Prize seeks to celebrate scientists and generate excitement about the pursuit of science as a career.

“We are incredibly happy for our colleagues who have received such an amazing recognition of their pioneering research. By honoring and celebrating our scientific heroes, this award is inspirational to the next generation of scientists and highlights the impact that stem cell research has on human lives,” says Janet Rossant, President-Elect of the ISSCR, who will succeed President Yamanaka following the ISSCR Annual Meeting in June 2013.

Among the distinguished recipients of this prize are:

Hans Clevers, MD, PhD, ISSCR Board of Directors and Professor of Medical Genetics at the Hubrecht Institute, The Netherlands.
For describing the role of Wnt signaling in tissue stem cells and cancer.

Eric S. Lander, PhD, ISSCR 2013 Annual Meeting Keynote Speaker, and President and Founding Director of the Eli and Edythe L. Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT. Professor of Biology at MIT. Professor of Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School.
For the discovery of general principles for identifying human disease genes, and enabling their application to medicine through the creation and analysis of genetic, physical and sequence maps of the human genome.

Shinya Yamanaka, MD,ISSCR President and Director of Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Kyoto University. Senior Investigator, Gladstone Institutes, San Francisco.
For induced pluripotent stem cells.

Read more about the Prize and all eleven of the winners.