Christine Mummery Becomes President of the ISSCR

  • 1 July, 2020
Christine Mummery Square

The ISSCR is pleased to announce Christine Mummery, PhD, Leiden University Medical Center, The Netherlands, as the new president of the ISSCR Board of Directors. Dr. Mummery’s term of office leading the Society begins today.

Dr. Mummery is Professor of Developmental Biology at Leiden University Medical Center. In 2015 she also became guest professor at the Technical University of Twente to develop organ-on-chip models based on stem cells. She is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Science, is a past board member of the Netherlands Medical Research Council and holds European Research Council Grants to study cardiac development and disease in humans based on stem cell models. Dr. Mummery is a former Editor-in-Chief of Stem Cell Reports, the Society’s journal. She will serve as ISSCR president for one year, succeeding Deepak Srivastava, Gladstone Institutes, USA.

“I am thrilled to take on this important role at such a pivotal time when we are all asking what is next as stem cell technologies continue to help biomedical science bring new therapies and cures to patients affected with serious diseases,” Dr. Mummery said. “I am particularly enthusiastic about the developing approaches to address the current COVID-19 pandemic, and the Society’s global networking meetings around this pandemic as the scientific and medical communities search for a safe and effective vaccine treatments. Further, I know that the ISSCR has taken great care to have international representation in our program speakers and our committees, but we recognize that we could and should be more active in increasing the visibility of minority groups in our Society. There is so much ahead for the Society and for the stem cell and regenerative medicine field and I’m looking forward to each new opportunity and new challenge this brings.”

Melissa H. Little, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and Professor at the University of Melbourne is president-elect and will serve as president in 2021. Haifan Lin, Yale University School of Medicine, USA is the new vice president. New members of the Board of Directors are Lygia Pereira, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil, and Jürgen Knoblich, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology in Vienna, Austria. We welcome re-appointed board members Charles Murry, University of Washington, USA, Roger Barker, University of Cambridge, UK, and Konrad Hochedlinger, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA.