The ISSCR Announces the Election of New Officers and Members of the Board of Directors

  • 15 March, 2022
News from ISSCR website tile

 Skokie, IL – The International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) is pleased to announce the results of its 2022 election. Valentina Greco, PhD, Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor and Vice-chair of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Genetics Department, Yale School of Medicine, USA will become the next Vice President. Clive Svendsen, PhD, Kerry and Simone Vickar Family Foundation Distinguished Chair in Regenerative Medicine and Executive Director of the Board of Governors Regenerative Medicine Institute at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, USA was elected Treasurer.

The following two scientists were newly elected to the ISSCR Board of Directors for a three-year term:

  • Helen Blau, PhD, Stanford University, USA
  • Kathy Niakan, PhD, The Francis Crick Institute, UK

The following ISSCR Board of Directors members were re-appointed for a second term:

  • Arnold Kriegstein, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco, USA
  • Ken Zaret, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Visit the ISSCR website for all of the results and the full biographies of our new and reappointed members of the ISSCR Board of Directors.

About the International Society for Stem Cell Research (

With nearly 4,000 members from more than 65 countries, the International Society for Stem Cell Research is the preeminent global, cross-disciplinary, science-based organization dedicated to stem cell research and its translation to the clinic. The ISSCR mission is to promote excellence in stem cell science and applications to human health. Additional information about stem cell science is available at A Closer Look at Stem Cells, an initiative of the Society to inform the public about stem cell research and its potential to improve human health.