Honoring Innovation & Exceptional Research

The ISSCR Awards Portfolio recognizes outstanding achievements and research potential in the field of stem cell research around the world. This year, more prizes were awarded than ever before, including complimentary registration and travel for the ISSCR annual meeting. The ISSCR awards honor scientists’ innovative work to harness the potential of stem cells, recognize exceptional research, support young researchers and the future of stem cell research and acknowledge extraordinary public service in the field. In order to ensure a diversity of award recipients, the award selection committee will take into account the previous ISSCR award history of nominees. Past recipients of the Innovation Award are not eligible for other science-based ISSCR awards. Nominees must be available to attend the ISSCR Annual Meeting if selected as the award recipient.

The ISSCR announces the 2018 award recipients.  Awardees will be recognized at the ISSCR 2018 Annual Meeting, 20 - 23 June 2018, in Melbourne, Australia. 

  • ISSCR Award for Innovation

    Recognizes original thinking and transformative, ground-breaking research pertaining to stem cells or regenerative medicine that opens new avenues of exploration towards the understanding or treatment of human disease or affliction.


From left to right: 2016-17 ISSCR President Sally Temple, 2017 ISSCR Dr. Susan Lim Award for Outstanding Young Investigator Award winner Jayaraj Rajagopal, 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation winner Elaine Fuchs, 2017 ISSCR Public Service Award winner George Daley, ISSCR Zhongmei Chen Yong Travel Awards for Scientific Excellence Chen Yong and Hongxia Zhang, ISSCR CEO Nancy Witty.

  • ISSCR Tobias Award Lecture

    Recognizes original and promising basic hematology research as well as direct translational or clinical research related to cell therapy in hematological disorders.

  • ISSCR Public Service Award

    Given in recognition of outstanding contributions of public service to the fields of stem cell research and regenerative medicine.

  • ISSCR Poster Awards

    Annual meeting prize given to six Trainee members whose posters are scored highest.