Officers & Board of Directors


The International Society for Stem Cell Research has more than 4,000 members in more than 60 countries. As an organization focused on bringing together all members of the stem cell community, we are proud that our membership is led by some of the most prominent and respected scientists from around the globe.

ISSCR Officers and Board

President - Douglas A. Melton, Harvard University and Harvard Stem Cell Institute, USA

Past President - Hans C. Clevers, Hubrecht Institute, Netherlands 

President Elect - Deepak Srivastava, Gladstone Institutes, USA

Clerk - Amander T. Clark, University of California, Los Angeles, USA 

Vice President - Christine L. Mummery, Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands

Treasurer - Arnold R. Kriegstein, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Director - Roger A. Barker, University of Cambridge, UK
Director - Marianne E. Bronner, California Institute for Technology, USA
Director - Fiona Doetsch, Biozentrum at the University of Basel, Switzerland
Director - Valentina Greco, Yale University School of Medicine, USA
Director - Konrad Hochedlinger, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard University, USA
Director - Jane S. Lebkowski, Patch Technologies, USA
Director - Ruth Lehmann, NYU School of Medicine, USA 
Director - Urban Lendahl, Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Director - Haifan Lin, Yale University School of Medicine, USA
Director - Melissa H. Little, Murdoch Children's Research Institute and University of Melbourne, Australia 
Director - Charles E. Murry, Institute for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine, University of Washington, USA 
Director - Martin F. Pera, The Jackson Laboratory, USA
Director - Hans R. Schöler, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine, Germany
Director - Takanori Takebe, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, USA/Tokyo Medical and Dental University and Yokohama City University, Japan 
Director - Joanna Wysocka, Stanford University, USA

Ex Officio Member -Sally Temple, Neural Stem Cell Institute, USA
Ex Officio Member - Leonard I. Zon, Boston Children's Hospital, USA 

Past Presidents

Hans C. Clevers, Hubrecht Institute, Netherlands (2017-2018)

Sally Temple, Neural Stem Cell Institute, USA (2016-2017)

Sean Morrison, UT Southwestern Medical Center, USA (2015-2016)

Rudolf Jaenisch, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA (2014-2015)

Janet Rossant, Hospital for Sick Children, Canada (2013-2014)

Shinya Yamanaka, Kyoto University, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application (CiRA), Japan (2012-2013)

Fred H. Gage, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA (2011-2012)

Elaine Fuchs, Rockefeller University, USA (2010-2011)

Irving L. Weissman, Stanford University School of Medicine, USA (2009-2010)

Fiona M. Watt, CR-UK Cambridge Research Institute, UK (2008-2009)

George Q. Daley, Boston Children’s Hospital, USA (2007-2008)


Paul J. Simmons, Univ of Texas Health Science Center, USA (2007-2008)


Gordon M. Keller, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, USA (2006-2007)


Leonard I. Zon, Boston Children's Hospital, USA (2002-2006)